

## FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE - March 11, 2010

Contact: Alexandra "Alex" Hernández Phone: (985) 652-9278

Email: ahernandez@portsl.com

## PORT OF SOUTH LOUISIANA ELECTS NEW COMMISSION PRESIDENT



During the March 2010 regular Commission meeting, the Port of South Louisiana board elected Mr. Louis A. Joseph as President for 2010-2011. He succeeds Mr. P. Joey Murray, who served as Commission President for the past five years. Mr. Joseph has served on the Board of Commissioners since 1998 as the Governor's appointee to represent St. John the Baptist Parish and was previously elected President from 2000 to 2003.

Elections were also held to fill the remaining positions of the Port's governing panel. Former President P. Joey Murray, the Governor's at-large appointee representing St. Charles, St. John, and St. James

Parishes, remains as Executive Vice-President. Sheila Bonnette and Raymond Fryoux remain as Treasurer and Secretary, respectively. Gregory Gravois, Rusty Gaudet, and Robert "Poncho" Roussel remain as Vice-Presidents.

All positions are elected for one-year terms.

The Port of South Louisiana, a 54-mile port district on the Mississippi River between New Orleans and Baton Rouge, is the largest tonnage port in the Western Hemisphere. The cargo it handles accounts for over 50 percent of all Louisiana imports/exports.

###

For more information about the Port of South Louisiana or this particular topic, please contact Alexandra "Alex" Hernández, Public Information Director, at (985) 652-9278 or <a href="mailto:ahernandez@portsl.com">ahernandez@portsl.com</a>, <a href="mailto:www.portsl.com">www.portsl.com</a>.