

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE – April 5, 2011

Contact: Alexandra "Alex" Hernández

Phone: (985) 652-9278 Email: <u>ahernandez@portsl.com</u>





During the March 2011 regular commission meeting, a motion to keep the current officers of the commission was approved. Mr. Louis A. Joseph was re-elected as President for the 2011-2012 term. Mr. Joseph, who has served on the Board of Commissioners since 1998 as the Governor's appointee to represent St. John the Baptist Parish, was President of the Commission from 2000 to 2003 before his 2010-2011 re-election.

P. Joey Murray, the Governor's at-large appointee representing St. Charles, St. John, and St. James Parishes, remains as Executive Vice-President. Gregory Gravois and Raymond Fryoux continue as

Treasurer and Secretary, respectively, and Sheila Bonnette, Rusty Gaudet, and Robert "Poncho" Roussel as Vice-Presidents.

All positions are elected for one-year terms.

The Port of South Louisiana, a 54-mile port district on the Mississippi River between New Orleans and Baton Rouge, is the largest tonnage port in the Western Hemisphere. The cargo it handles accounts for over 50 percent of all Louisiana imports/exports.

###

For more information about the Port of South Louisiana or this particular topic, please contact Alexandra "Alex" Hernández, Public Information Director, at (985) 652-9278 or <u>ahernandez@portsl.com</u>, <u>www.portsl.com</u>.