

## FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE – May 5, 2014

**Contact:** Alexandra "Alex" Hernández

Phone: (985) 652-9278 Email: <u>ahernandez@portsl.com</u>

## PORT OF SOUTH LOUISIANA ELECTS NEW COMMISSION PRESIDENT



During the April 2014 regular commission meeting, the Port of South Louisiana board elected Mr. D. Paul Robichaux as President for 2014-2015. Robichaux, who was appointed to the board of commissioners in 2012 by Governor Jindal to represent St. Charles Parish, succeeds Mr. Louis A. Joseph, who served as Commission President since 2010 and previously between 2000 and 2003.

Elections were also held to fill the remaining positions of the Port's governing panel. Joseph Scontrino, representing St. John Parish, was selected to be Executive Vice President. Former President P. Joey Murray, the Governor's at-large appointee representing St. Charles, St. John, and St. James Parishes, will serve as Treasurer and

St. James Parish representative Stanley Bazile will serve as Secretary. J. Raymond Fryoux, Louis A. Joseph, and Robert "Poncho" Roussel will function as Vice Presidents.

All positions are elected for one-year terms.

## ABOUT THE PORT OF SOUTH LOUISIANA

The Port of South Louisiana, a 54-mile port district on the Mississippi River between New Orleans and Baton Rouge encompassing St. Charles, St. John and St. James parishes, is the largest tonnage port in the western hemisphere and accounts for over 50% of all Louisiana imports/exports.

For more information about the Port of South Louisiana or this particular topic, please contact Alexandra "Alex" Hernández, Public Information Officer, at (985) 652-9278 or <u>ahernandez@portsl.com</u>. <u>www.portsl.com</u>